Researcher biography

Megan Cassidy-Welch is Professor of History and Head of the School of Historical and Philosophical Inquiry and was recently named the sixth McCaughey Chair in History. Megan holds degrees from The University of Melbourne (BA Hons; PhD) and the University of London (MA, Medieval Studies). Megan has held continuing academic positions at the University of Tasmania, The University of Melbourne and Monash University. She has held an Australian Research Council Postdoctoral Fellowship (2001‒2004, The University of Melbourne) and an Australian Research Council Future Fellowship (2011‒2015, Monash University). She has served as President and secretary of the Australian and New Zealand Association for Medieval and Early Modern Studies; Head of the School of Philosophical, Historical and International Studies at Monash University; and is an Associate Investigator with the ARC Centre of Excellence for the History of Emotions. Megan’s research explores the social and cultural history of the thirteenth century, particularly themes of space, memory and war. She is the author of two books: Monastic Spaces and their Meanings: Thirteenth-Century English Cistercian Monasteries (2001) and Imprisonment in the Medieval Religious Imagination, c. 1150‒1400 (2011) with a third in press: Remembrance Projects: War and Memory at the Time of the Fifth Crusade (Penn State UP, forthcoming). She is co-editor of Practices of Gender in Late Medieval and Early Modern Europe (with Peter Sherlock, 2008) and Crusades and Memory (with Anne E. Lester, 2014), editor of Remembering the Crusades and Crusading (Routledge, 2017) and a member of the editorial boards of Europa Sacra (Brepols), Late Medieval and Early Modern Studies (Brepols), The Journal of Medieval Monastic Studies, and the book series Bodies in the City, 1100-1800 (Routled​ge). Megan's current ARC funded projects are Atrocity: A Cultural and Social History; and (with Dr Dolly MacKinnon) Battlefields of Memory: Places of War and Remembrance in Medieval and Early Modern England and Scotland.